Cerovlje, Travel Guide for holidays in Cerovlje, Istria

Cerovlje – Points of interests

Cerovlje panorama Cerovlje municipal center is built on an important road that connected Rijeka and Istria, and an even greater importance in the 1876 the railway Divača – Pula. The settlement existed in the 13th century under the rule of Acquileian Patriarchs. However, for the first time explicitly, Cerovlje was mentioned in 1325 in Istarski razvod and in 1498 in the Urbar of the Shire of Pazin under the name of Czerolach. On the road from Pazin to Rijeka, near the railway crossing, there is a Church of the Holy Trinity, dating back to the 15th century. A local priest, Ivan Bubić, from Previž, expanded the church in 1588. A Glagolitic inscription carved into a millstone in the southern façade is testament to the actions of the priest. In the beginning of the 19th century started the the production of bricks thanks to the deposits of quality clay in the valleys around Cerovlje and Borut. In 1911, Antonio Mezzar, an entrepreneur from Previž, built a brickyard, which was the only industry in the central Istria. Notwithstanding, the territory of Cerovlje remained agricultural.

Photo to buy

If you want to buy one of teh next photos please send us an e-mail at
Cerovlje, IstriaCerovlje, Istria